Kui Ge, which the Kinmen people called "Kuixinglou", also known as Kuilou or Bagualou, worships Kuixing. Kuixing is one of the five Wenchangs in China. Because Kinmen was not a county before, it was not allowed to build a Confucius Temple. In order to let young people in Kinmen have a place to pray for luck before taking the imperial examination, a pavilion building which worshiped Kuixingye was built in 1836 in Tushantou of Houpu (next to today’s Chen Shih-Yin Western-Style House) according to the proposal of Lin Feizhang, who was a native of Houpu and received a Gongshi degree. He donated a thousand Liangs by himself to build it (Liang was the monetary unit at the time). Delicate, simple and unsophisticated, Kui Ge is more than 170 years old. Without changing the original appearance, it has been rebuilt twice, in 1944 and 1963. It is listed as a county designated historical site.
Kui Ge is a two-story, three-eave, hexagonal building with a simple wood structure to highlight the simplicity of the building. Every year when the exam season is approaching, a series of worship activities is held, praying that the exam candidates can pass and their wishes come true.
Opening Hours Open all day